PUNJAB GK

TOPIC 2

Administrative Division and Districts of Punjab

INTRODUCTION

- Punjab is located in North- West direction of India.
- Area :- 50362 sq km (1.54% of India)



DIVISION OF PUNJAB

- Total Division :- 5
- Faridkot Division 3 districts
- Ferozepur Division- 4 district
- Jalandhar (largest division) 7 districts
- Patiala 5 districts
- Ropar 3 district (smallest division)
- Total district of Punjab 22



FARIDKOT DIVISION

1) FARIDKOT DISTRICT

Came into existence	1972
Tehsils	Faridkot, Kotakpura, Jaitu
Faridkot founder	Raja Mokalsi
Faridkot ancient	Mokal har
name	
Faridkot named after	Baba Farid
Kotakpura founder	Chaudhary Kapura
Jaito founder	Jaito , a sidhu jat
university	Baba Farid university of Health Science

2) Bathinda districts

Came into existence	1948
ancient name	Vikramgarh
named after	Rajput ruler Binai Pal and his wazir Thanda Ram
University	Central university of Bathinda and Adesh University
Major industry	National Fertilizers Ltd , Grasim industries

Power plants	Guru Nanak Dev Thermal plant at Bathinda and Guru Hargobind ThermaL Plant at Lehra Mohabbat
Refinery	HMEL (HPCL – Mittal energy Ltd)

3) MANSA DISTRICT

Came into existence	1992
Founder	Bhai Gurdas
Called as	Area of white gold (cotton belt of Punjab)
Power plant	Talwandi sabo Thermal power plant at village Banawala district Mansa

FEROZEPUR DIVISION

1) Ferozepur district

Came into existence	1833
Founder	Firozshah Tughlaq
Called as	Shaheedon ki Dharti

2) FAZILKA DISTRICT

Abohar (famous as California of Punjab for citrus production)

Came into existence	2011
Establised	Vans Agnew
Named after	Mian Fazil Watoo

3) SRI MUKTSAR SAHIB DISTRICT

Came into existence	1995
Ancient name	Khidrane di Dhaab
Named after	40 Muktas
Fair	Maghi mela (jan) and Ghorian de mela

4) MOGA DISTRICT

Came into existence	1995
Founder	Moga singh Gill
International industry	nestle

PATIALA DIVISION

1) PATIALA DISTRICT

Came into existence	1948
Founder	Baba Ala Singh
University	Punjabi university, Rajiv Gandhi National university of Law and Thapar university
Power plant	Rajpura Thermal power plant

2) SANGRUR DISTRICT

Came into existence	1948
Founder	Sanghu a jat
University	Sant longowal institute of engineering and technology
Fair	Mela Hazrat Sheikh-u-Din at Malerkotla

3) BARNALA DISTRICT

Came into existence	2006
Founder	Baba Ala Singh

4) FATEHGARH SAHIB

 Sanghol an ancient site of Harappan culture is present in Fatehgarh Sahib

Came into existence	1992
Named after	Sahibzada fateh Singh
Chivolotty	Sri Guru Granth Sahib World university

5) LUDHIANA DISTRICT

Founder	Yusuf khan ang Nihang khan of Lodhi dynasty
Called as	Manchester of India and financial capital of Punjab
University	Guru Angad Dev university of veterinary and animal science and Punjab Agriculture university

JALANDHAR DIVISION

1) JALANDHAR DISTRICT

Named after	Jalandhar, a demon king
Founder	Nakodar khan
University	LPU, PTU DAV university
Fairs	Hariballabh sangeet meal and Baba sodal meal

2) HOSIARPUR DISTRICT

Power plant Mukerian nydei project	Power plant	Mukerian hydel project
------------------------------------	-------------	------------------------

3) GURDASPUR DISTRICT

Founder	Guriya ji
Rivers pass through districts	Beas and Ravi

4) PATHANKOT DISTRICT

Came into existence	2011
Carved out from	Gurdaspur
Power plant	Ranjit sagar dam hydro elecrtic project and U.B.D.C Power house

5) KAPURTHALA DISTRICT

Came into existence	1948
Founder of Kapurthala	Rana kapur
Founder of Phagwara	Shah jahan
Founder of Sultanpur lodhi	Sultan khan lodhi

6) AMRITSAR DISTRICT

Founder	Guru Ram Das Ji
University	GNDU
Bab bakala is associated with	Guru Teg Bahadur Ji

7) TARN TARAN DISTRICT

Came into existence	2006
Founder of Tarn Taran	Guru Arjan Dev Ji
Founder of Khandur Sahib	Guru Angad Dev Ji
Founder of Goindwal Sahib	Guru Amar Das Ji
Power plant	Gobindwal Sahib Power Plant

ROPAR DIVISION

1) RUPNAGAR DISTRICT

Came into existence	1966
Founder of Ropar	Raja Raokeshar
Founder of Anandpur Sahib	Guru Tegh Bahadur ji
Fairs	Shaheedi Jor Mella at Chamkaur Sahib and Holla Mohalla at Anandpur Sahib
Power plant	Guru Gobind Singh Super Thermal Power Plant

2) SBS NAGAR (NAWAHSHAHR) DISTRICT

Came into existence	1995
Founder of Nawanshar	Naushaer khan
Name changed	As Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar on 27/9/2008

3) SAS NAGAR (MOHALI) DISTRICT

Came into existence	2006
Offical name	Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar (now Ajitgarh)
Industry and IT Hub	Ranbaxy, PTL, Phillips, Dell etc
university	Chandigarh university, Rayat Bahar university

QUESTIONS

- Q 1) which one among the following is the ancient name of Bathinda?
- A) Lohgarh
- B) Vikramgarh
- C) HARIGARH
- D) None of the above
- Q 2) which one among the following district is referred as the area of White Gold
- A) Mansa
- B) Patiala
- C) Fazilka
- D) Sangrur
- Q 3) which one among the following is named as the Manchester of India?
- A) Jalandhar
- B) Amritsar
- C) Ajitgarh
- D) Ludhiana

Q 4) which one among the following was founded by Shah Jahan?
A) KapurthalaB) PhagwaraC) Sultanpur lodhiD) Mansa
Q 5) Ranjit Sagra Dam Hydro Electric Project is in which of the following district?
A) HoshiarpurB) GurdaspurC) PathankotD) None of the above
Q 6) which one among the following is named as Financial Capital of Punjab?
A) Ludhiana B) Jalandhar C) Amritsar D) Bathinda
Q 7) Area wise smallest district of Punjab?
A) Barnala B) SAS Nagar C) Mansa D) Nawanshar

Q 8) Area wise largest division of Punjab?

- A) Jalandhar
- B) Patiala
- C) Ropar
- D) Faridkot

ANSWERS

- Q 1) B
- $\mathbf{Q}(\mathbf{2}) \mathbf{A}$
- Q 3) D
- Q 4) B
- Q 5) C
- Q(6) A
- Q 7) B
- Q8) A